Aleya Reviews Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

As promised in my previous blog post, I’m gonna do a bit of a review for Saga. I’ve never done a Graphic Novel/Comic review so this is something new for me. No spoilers… even though I wanna talk about the stuff that went down.

Here’s the back of it because it’s beautiful and I posted the cover on my last post. Overall I’d rate this a 5 out of 5. I just loved everything about it. And the things that you’d think may bother don’t really.

I guess I’ll start with the artwork. I’ve realized I’m rather picky with the artwork I choose, whether it’s anime, manga, or now comics I guess, but this comic had no issues with me. Fiona Staples does an amazing job with these characters. The expressions in this are my favorite. Like seriously, there’s so much feeling in Alana and Marko’s expressions, especially to one another, and to their daughter (I’ll leave out her name since they don’t figure it out until midway through it). I was a little unsure about some of the artwork… namely the TV head people… and the head-leg people, I could have gone my entire life without seeing something like that lol.

I was warned ahead of time that it was going to be graphic with things, so none of that bothered me. If that kinda thing bothers you though, you may not wanna read it. But seriously, the artwork is just so gorgeous that it’s worth it. Ignore the head-leg people… they’re not there long.

I loved the characters within this. Of course I loved Marko and Alana, they were both badass and awesome and just so very cute together. And they’re just such great parents as well! I’m so excited to see their story, and the baby’s of course. I love how the story is told in real time but (as with a lot of comics I’ve seen) also told from the past by their daughter. Her insights are beautiful and I love the story telling.

Props to Vaughan, the story is fantastic. I even care about the freelancers! I love the writing in this, the characters are all so different, dynamic, and simply great. I highly recommend it. It’s very graphic as mentioned before. I mean, the main cover has a picture of Alana breastfeeding so you know it’s not going to be something safe. The writer and artist definitely do not hold back. I’m glad I was able to get into this one because I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait until Wednesday… I ordered the next two volumes. I wanted to own them for myself because they’re just so beautiful. Plus they’re so soft and such. I ordered them from Amazon, they’re not that expensive if you guys wanna check into them.

Hope you guys like the review! If you wanna talk more about it, comment and we can talk! Until later Chaos Seekers!

Leave a Reply

