Aleya Reviews Jackaby by William Ritter

In my spare time the past couple of days I was making my way through this novel… Mostly I was putting off studying to read instead, but oh well. I finished this book yesterday while at work and now I finally have the chance to review it (after 2 tests and loads of studying… I should be studying now… anyways, to the review).

No spoilers, just broad generalizations.

“But that’s Jackaby in a nutshell. Science and magic, beauty and bedlam, things that ought to be at odds– they just don’t follow the same rules when Jackaby’s involved.” (One of my favorite quotes to sum up Jackaby)

20312462

This is the book in question. Beautiful cover. The book is about a girl named Abigail Rook who comes to New England in 1892. Immediately off the boat she tries to find a job in the town of New Fiddlelham and stumbles upon a job posting to be an assistant to a certain R. F. Jackaby. Jackaby is a detective who is quite like Sherlock Holmes except he also deals with more fantastical things. Abigail finds herself thrown into a murder mystery as Jackaby’s assistant. This novel is a classic mystery novel mixed with supernatural elements.

Overall I’d have to rate this book a 4 out of 5. I probably should rate it a little lower, but I just enjoyed it too much.

This novel was fantastic. It was such a fun read and a nice quick one to get your mind running in that fun detective kind of way. The mystery itself was not the most surprising. I had it figured out very early in the novel, but it was still very enjoyable. There’s a certain kind of satisfaction that comes when you’ve predicted who the killer is and you end up being right all along. While I guessed who it was, I did not guess what it was nor the events that lead up to it, so there’s that.

Characters… they were all so great! So much wit between the main two. Due to time constraints on my end, I’m only looking at our main two characters.

Jackaby was such a great character. He really reminded me of Sherlock, so that was a nice added bonus. Adding on the supernatural elements to the detective side made him really great too. He was very quirky but wicked smart and fun. Unlike Sherlock though he had a strong moral compass, he didn’t utilize it as much as he could have, but it was there. That was great. I love a dynamic character.

Abigail was a nice strong female character. She really strikes against the rules of women during that time period which is always refreshing. Plus she can handle herself and manages to keep up with Jackaby, which is not easy to do, I’d have a hard time in her shoes. I loved her sense of adventure and how she reacted to things. Her attention to detail was nice to have alongside Jackaby’s sporadic nature. She makes a great assistant. Plus she’s fun to read.

I just loved the overall feeling of this book. It has a very old feel to it due to it taking place in the late 1800s, but at the same time it had that comfortable detective story feel. Mixing in the supernatural kinda stuff just made it 10 times better. I was very glad I picked up this one to read. There are a lot of good messages within this book that a reader can pick out. I really enjoyed the feeling it gave me in regards to helping others. Jackaby did so much for others without worrying about himself. It’s always a good message to do good by others.

If you’re interested in the book, check it out on Goodreads then buy it on Amazon, I don’t think you’d be disappointed.

Hope you guys liked the review! Until later Chaos Seekers!

Leave a Reply

