Friends and the Exposure to Wonderful Media

I just wanted to make a post to thank my friends I’ve made in college. It came to mind thanks to a friend of mine who made a Buffy reference on another friend’s facebook status. The guy didn’t get the reference but I did and I just had to stop and mentally thank my best friend Christina (sorry love, putting your first name out there a bit). Growing up I didn’t have the best TV experiences. I watched Star Trek: Next Generation and that was about it for the great shows. Movies were typically pretty forgettable stuff. It didn’t bother me or anything until I got into college and realized I hadn’t seen some of the biggest things ever.

For those that are wondering, no I have not seen Star Wars. I will watch it eventually, I just haven’t had the chance to sit down for 6 movies. I have seen bits and pieces of some on TV and I did see Episode 1 when I was little. So, that’s one thing my best friend has been pushing me to watch… I’ll get to it, I promise.

Anyways. It’s thanks to my best friend that I watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer and a lot of Joss Whedon’s earlier work like Firefly, Serenity, Dr. Horrible, etc. She also introduced me to Lord of the Rings. Thinking back now I realize how crazy it is that I hadn’t seen these wonderful shows and movies until I was introduced to them by a friend. At the time when I watched LOTR it was when we were just starting to be friends too.

What’s funny is the reason we became friends was our mutual love of Doctor Who, which I’d only started the summer after I graduated High School (2011). The only reason I’d started that is because one of my online friends had talked about it a lot so my cousin and I decided to give it a try… I was caught up in no time and I’ve been hooked ever since.

I just find it amazing that the people you meet (in college especially) and become great friends with can have such an impact. Granted this is just about media, but still. I’m a nerd so shows like that help contribute to my nerd knowledge… wow that kinda sounds silly, but my fellow nerds will get what I mean.

Now more than my best friend are contributing to my media knowledge. I have another friend who has broadened my mind on comic books and such so much this past year it’s ridiculous. Also within the last few weeks thanks to him I’ve seen three of the greatest Studio Ghibli movies ever. I’ve made so many friends thanks to my TV shows and books (thanks to Tumblr getting me interested in Supernatural I became best friends with my dear Kat).

I’m so lucky to have the friends I do in my life and it’s thanks to our similar likes in TV shows (and books– I got several great friends thanks to our love of books. Thank you John Green for that or Jess and Lo we wouldn’t really be friends). Thank Doctor Who especially. I gained two best friends thanks to that show. Smith I didn’t mention you darling, but you’re in that time too. We discuss books more than TV shows… unless it’s BBC dramas like North and South or a Jane Austen movie. Becks, you’re in there too, no worries.

Moral of the story guys, let your nerd flag fly and share your favorite TV shows (and books and movies) with people. You may gain a friend or two along the way. Lifelong friendships can start with just one episode. Another thing, if you haven’t seen Doctor Who (I’m obsessed I know), then give it a try for sure. At least watch the first season… never give up on a show unless you’ve seen 12 episodes or so. You have to give it a fair shot, at least with shows like Doctor Who.

Until later Chaos Seekers!

Leave a Reply

